Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

this 15 play drive everyone keeps referencing...

tshile

Look, I'm a pro-campbell/zorn guy, and anyone who has read my posts realizes I'm overly optimistic about the redskisn this season (maybe even every season?)

That being said, I'm not completely ignorant to the facts.... like it would apear most of the local media is.

They keep touting this 15 play opening drive of the steelers game as some 'sign of life', or improvement, or part of 'things to come' from this offense.

Is it just me, or does it seem a little ridiculous how much credit this drive is getting from the media/zorn? This drive... this 15 play 'good' drive, was only a 15 play drive because zorn called a fake punt on 4th and 10....

which, by the way, would never ever be called in a regular season game.

Up until this point, it was 3 straight incomplete passes by campbell. Following the fake punt, campbell had his only completion of the night. (although, if they had gone 3 and out I would hope zorn would have kept him in until he at least completed a pass... and what would have happened on another drive attempt is completely unpredictable.).

Just curious what others think, or if you've even noticed, this.

Not trying to be down on the skins at all, I think they'll be fine this season - just sick of the (over) play this '15 play drive' is getting....

edit: sorry if this has been discussed to death already. i missed it if it was.

I thought we did ok last year moving the ball around. We just couldnt do anything with it and once again we proved that against the steelers. I think we can move the ball against some of the better defenses, but when we get in the red zone as we have done for years, we stall. Thats where the real problem lays in my opinion. Whether they hype is warranted or not, the stall at the end deserves all the scrutiny it gets.