Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

My family is thinking about trying geocaching (UPDATE)

SnyderShrugged

Is it okay to take hotel amenities?  

83 members have voted

1. 1. Is it okay to take hotel amenities?

Do any ES members do this activity?

Is it something fun that my family can do on sunday afternoons as an outdoor family activity (daughters are 7 and 9 and very into the outdoors.

any advice, testimonials and equipment suggestions for total beginners would be appreciated.

I had to go google geocaching.

Seems pretty interesting, I was looking at geocaching.com for some info. There are a bunch of caches within a mile of my house. When I get my cast off I am going to give this a try. The doc says I need to get outside and do some walking anyways, may as well make a game of it.

My wife and 2 daughters (7 and 9) are comitted to doing much more outdoor family activity in our new location. Today we did a 5 mile hike.

We heard of geocaching from a family member and it seems like a really fun and unique way to add some excitement for the kids and us.

A couple of years ago, I geocached A LOT. It is really fun. A friend and I would go together. Also, on trips to workshops in other cities, I would check out caches along the way and stop to find.

I have not gone in a while. I even found cache at a zoo.

If you really get into it, you will like it. I still get caching emails.

We did this a lot when the kids were younger, and still do a bit.

Aside from giving a hike a destination, often people will place caches on their favorite hikes, and so if you are in an unfamiliar area it's often a great way to find good places to go that aren't in the guidebnooks. We've visited caches in maybe ten countries.

We placed a cache of our own in a relatively unknown local park and it's common when people log their visit to comment that they've lived in the area for decades and not known about the place.

Equipment? Just a regular old handheld GPS.