Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

How long can you hold a grudge?

Burgold

I'm not good at holding a grudge. I tend to forgive or at least forget. I think the longest grudge I've held against someone who has really wronged me has been about six months. Now, don't get me wrong, there are people who have wronged me who I have exorcised from my life that I never want anything to do with again... Non the less, I'm not actively bitter or angry with them anymore. I don't bad mouth them when the opportunity rises.

I was thinking of this in regards to the Schlereth/Jackson thread. How do you hold on to anger and hate for 15 plus years? It seems like a sickness to me.

So, how about you? How what's the longest grudge you've ever held and was it over something huge or something that must have been trivial because you can't even recall the details about what started it?

Peter came up and said to [Jesus], "Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?"

Jesus said to him, "I do not say to you seven times, but seventy times seven."

Sounds right to me. Anger, bitterness, and grudges lead to nothing but sorrow and a hard heart.

"But beware of the dark side. Anger...fear...aggression. The dark side of the Force are they. Easily they flow, quick to join you in a fight. If once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny, consume you it will, as it did Obi-Wan's apprentice."

yoda.jpg

Mmmmm?

I am one of the nicest people around. I treat everyone like a friend. And I give people a lot of leeway.

But if someone does manage to find a way to tick me off I have a real hard time forgiving them. Because it takes a LOT to tick me off.

I sometimes joke with my wife that my temper is like water while her's is like a mercury thermometer.

Her's shoots up, steam comes out of her ears, and the yelling starts in earnest. Ten to fifteen minutes later she's over it and wondering why anyone would still be upset.