Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

deck boat vs. pontoon boat?

Skinz4

I am new to boating and would like to get some opinions on how deck boats compare to pontoon boats. I will be using the boat in the Bay at Ocean City. I like the amount of room that pontoon boats have, but some deck boats that I have looked at online seem to have plenty of room also, such as the Hurricane FunDeck models.... The pontoons seem like they would be a lot cheaper than a deck boat. Any advice?

I am new to boating and would like to get some opinions on how deck boats compare to pontoon boats. I will be using the boat in the Bay at Ocean City. I like the amount of room that pontoon boats have, but some deck boats that I have looked at online seem to have plenty of room also, such as the Hurricane FunDeck models.... The pontoons seem like they would be a lot cheaper than a deck boat. Any advice?

I am almost in the market for a boat as well, deck boats are typically dual haul, see "Hurricanes". I have wake boarded behind a deck boat many of times. They are typically a little sportier.

Pontoons are typically called a party barge, more comfortable, more room for walking around and the majority of them are designed for cruising.

I am leaning more towards a pontoon with a changing room for our place at the beach.

The pontoons are easier to hook up with other party boats, which I'm sure you know there are plenty of in OC. They'll be nice to have since their hauls aren't deep, which is ideal if you want to make landfall on the little "islands" on the bayside in OC. If you want to pull tubes or skis, you have to go with the sport boat.

Personally I'd go for the sport boat. You'll have a little more versatility when you want to tug people around. But if you plan on taking out a bigger group, obviously the pontoon is more spacious and comfortable for that.