Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Laptop question?

daviddsims

Hey guys I am looking at getting a laptop to replace my 5 year old home computer. I will have it hooked up with wireless internet. The Apple Macbook has caught my eye with all the great reviews online. I have never used anything Apple before just PC. My main uses will be watching dvds, surfing the net, and storing music and pics. Is the mac worth the extra money and I also hear that they do not have problems with spyware or viruses like pc? It just seems you get alot more for the money with a normal laptop like HP or Dell but the Macs get great reviews. Anyone care to chime in on this? Thanks.

As long as you don't do anything to screw up your laptop, you should be fine with the bugs and all. The PC type laptops will come with a bunch of spyware loaded, so take a few minutes to remove it, simple as that.

The Macs don't have bugs or anything because not as many bugs are viruses are made for macs since there is not as much software for it.

Also, unless you really do want a mobile home computer, just get a desktop. Those things are meant to last longer while turned on. If you don't use the computer much, then you should be fine, but if you want to leave the thing on all day, should get a desktop.

I wouldn't worry so much about spyware and viruses on PCs. You won't have a problem as long as you're smart about what websites you visit, what programs you install, etc. My home PC (WinXP) doesn't even have virus software installed and its been working perfectly for over a year now. Like anything else, if you take care of it, it'll take care of you.