Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

My credit pretty much sucks

spjunkies

get a couple of cards

one visa/mastercard [ get one without a fee]

also get a couple dept store cards, Walmart, sears pennys etc, use them once pay off and do not use them again and DO cancel them. That will build you credit

The forums at Credit Boards should be able to help you zero in on a card that you will be able to get approval on. They deal with this kind of issue (though usually the low credit score is for negatives) all the time.

Do you still go to school? If so, a student card should be easy.

I'm not in school so that won't work for me :(

I had ONE freakin collection account that I paid off in 06, but that was it.

I'm not in school so that won't work for me :(

That makes things a little harder, but Credit Boards can probably still help you. Browse a bit, there's a lot of advice on how to get credit with bad scores.

I got a Chase mastercard with no credit and a $600 credit limit (no annual fee or anything like that). They increased it to $800 in just a couple months. You should probably check with them. Why are you just now getting a credit card?

Because every time I apply for one I get denied and I read that can have a negative impact on your non-existent credit.

I suspect this has MUCH more to do with it then lack of credit.

Here is what I would do. Dispute the collection.

Simply dispute it and claim you don't remember it. They have 30 days or so to respond with proof. MANY times, since it's been paid off, they won't bother sending in the paperwork. Then, it's gone.

Worst case, it stays on and you are where you are today.

You should apply for 1 or 2 cards. But nothing will make it jump up except paying your balance every day. If you CAN get that removed, it will jump up 20 points are so.

Here's the dish with credit.