Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

WT: Seen and Heard at Redskins Camp

Seen and Heard at Redskins Camp

Aug. 3, 2006

BIG JOE RETURNS

Defensive tackle Joe Salave'a returned after missing the first two days of camp for his mother's funeral in Samoa. Salave'a, exhausted from jet lag, his mother's death and the birth of a son two weeks ago, was in uniform but not in pads last night. He said he needs to get his conditioning back, but coach Joe Gibbs expects him back for Saturday's scrimmage against Baltimore.

"I need these guys more than they need me," Salave'a said. "Being with the guys makes it a little easier."

NOT JUST A FANTASY

Tight end Chris Cooley apparently is the only Redskin who, like millions of Americans, is a fantasy football owner.

"I've always had a blast playing," Cooley said. "I try to have a couple of Internet teams, and my friends do a team, and we put it online, too. I've been playing since I was a sophomore in high school. I lost in the playoffs last year because I had such a good game against Dallas [for his opponent's fantasy team]."

Cooley had Clinton Portis on his team last year, but that didn't mean he wanted the running back to get the ball instead of him at the goal line.

"I'd rather catch a touchdown in a real game than have my fantasy team win," Cooley said with a laugh.

BRANDON LLOYD, PHOTOGRAPHER...

click link for rest of article.

QUOTABLE

"This is Coach Gibbs' team now. We got rid of the bad apples. The locker room is the best I've ever been around."

-- Seventh-year guard Randy Thomas on the Redskins' chemistry.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Bubba, you aren't trying to do the same thing I did to you last night, just more subtly, are you? Cuz if you are then you are a...:loser:. Oh and btw I just thought I'd update the standings in our little game:

Me: :1stplace:

You: :2ndplace:

CooleyNaMean: :3rdplace:

Don't know what game I'm talking about, too bad. But here it is ... Game