Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Redskins on Tivo: My Take

MaxHardware

Who else insists on using Tivo to watch the Redskins?

I've been doing it for two years, and I can no longer tolerate watching football of any kind on regular TV.

There are so many advantages.

First, you can zip through commercials. Yes! The game really is an hour in duration, folks. Amazing, isn't it? You sit there for two hours watching commercials. God, it is so mind-numbing. Those commercials break the continuity of the game and cause your fat butt to get fatter.

With Tivo, I can zip through a game in 1.5 hours easy. When the game is good, I can pause it, replay, savor the moments. Not to be missed.

This year I'm watching the skins on HD TV. My challenge will be to find a DVR that does HD. I have a month.

The only disadvantage is that I start watching the game about 1.5 hours after it has started so that I can use the Tivo to skip commercials. On a typical game, I finish watching just a few minutes after the actual game ends, yet I've spent far less time on my duff.

It's hard, though, knowing a game has started and not being able to watch it. I make sure my Tivo has started recording before I walk away!

I start live but do a lot of rewinding and rewatching plays and/or replays so I'm usually a little behind. I never start watching late though. I also don't fast forward anything but commercials. I like listening to the commentary so I can pick it apart and scream at the TV.

A couple of issues with Tivo and Directv: if you're not in the DC area, you have to be careful. If the game is on a broadcast channel, it will be blacked out on NFL Sunday Ticket. If you wait an hour or so to start watching, you could fire up your Tivo to find... nothing. The other problem is that you have to set Tivo to record for time, not just the program, because if the games goes into OT it will stop recording when the program block is over.