Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Any Firefighters/Paramedics on this site?

LiveStrongSkins

Even though I'm wrapping up my associates in business, I've been thinking about becoming a firefighter/paramedic for a while now. My personal situation that I came out of made me think about it even more, as it was paramedics who had to come to my own rescue a few times. I've already put the applications in to three different counties (Arlington Co.,Fairfax Co., and Prince William CO.) I just wanted any feedback or advice from those who have been there and done that, also tips on possibly which county is the best and what not. I've gotten some grief from people about how I would make more money with my business degree, but money isnt important to me. It's about loving what you do. Any feedback would be great...

LiveStrong -

I'm a volunteer firefighter in Connecticut, so I can't help you as far as which county is best to serve in down there....but I can tell you I wish I had chosen firefighting as a profession (ironically, I'm in business :)). I absolutely love everything about it.

As for the money aspect, it's true...you would probably make more money in business. However, you must also realize that the firefighter who is paid $40-$50K per year is making that while working 2 or 3 days a week. So a lot of career firefighters also have other jobs - some in business, some are plumbers, electricians, etc - and they supplement their income that way. Also, the career guys make boo-koo money in overtime and holiday pay. Some of our career guys (who also volunteer at our dept) brought home $70-80K last year.