Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Question about Iraq/Afghan wars...

Mickalino

I'll admit I'm no political expert, so forgive me if I'm overlooking something obvious, but I'm curious why we are facing far more insurgent resistance in Iraq than Afghanistan ? Why did the democratic transition and governmental change go so much smoother in Afghanistan, than in Iraq, considering Afghanistan is the home-base for al-quaida ? Is al-quaida fighting more fiercer for Iraq than Afghanistan, because they want the oil, and the power that goes with it, just as much as we do ?

I'll admit I'm no political expert, so forgive me if I'm overlooking something obvious, but I'm curious why we are facing far more insurgent resistance in Iraq than Afghanistan ? Why did the democratic transition and governmental change go so much smoother in Afghanistan, than in Iraq, considering Afghanistan is the home-base for al-quaida ? Is al-quaida fighting more fiercer for Iraq than Afghanistan, because they want the oil, and the power that goes with it, just as much as we do ?

It would seem, that the longer an invading force stays in a country, the greater the internal resistance towards them will become. The pace and aggression will be greater if the quality of life for the native people is highly compromized. Life in Iraq took a big nose dive after the invasion and it has not yet achieve the levels needed to passify the hostility by moderates. It will return, but it could take many years.

IMO this is not a politics issue, it's an evolutionary psychology issue.

My deductions...

1. In Afghanistan we had the Northern Alliance doing a lot of leg-work for us.

2. Afghanistan is more rural and Iraq is more complicated urban warfare.

3. Afghan people have been at war for decades and at this point many would rather bow out than become insurgents.