Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Is 4th quarter playcalling more aggressive or is execution just better?

Folks have been feeling lately that we have become more aggressive in the 4th quarter as far as playcalling - developing more of a "killer instinct".

However, I am wondering if maybe we are mistaking better execution of a conservative gameplan for more aggressive playcalling? Honestly, I don't know the answer and would appreciate some input from better students of the game than I.

Thanks.

i can't say i'm a better student than the smartest man in america (and frankly i don't have stats to back this up), but my guess is it's execution.

go back to portis's run (6 yards + ?) that went for a first and sealed the 'zona game. we ran in a similar situation against the bucs but were stopped short ... with the cards' receivers, if cp doesn't get that first, we're in serious danger of losing that game in heartbreaking fashion a la tampa.

I am thinking more aggressive as well, thus resulting in better execution. Remember what Portis said recently? The coaches are letting the players play. Gibbs sort of laughed that off but I think there is something to it.

I believe the coaches are letting the players be more aggressive (which comes naturally to them) and as their warrior instinct kicks in, they perform at a higher level.

In this case, "after this, therefore because of this" may apply.

Who's to say I am the smarter than the smartest man in America? :doh:

But to your question, it is about better execution. Gibbs has alluded to 98% attendance in mini-camp and the team had a closed door meeting to find out their identity, which is running the ball.

Gibbs has always been somewhat conservative. When he has the lead, he expects to pound the ball and be more physical and in better shape than the other team. I think the players are finally buying into that mentality.