Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Good news for people looking to buy a home to live in

jbooma

The housing bubblets are starting to flatten. Which for people who buy a home to LIVE in them is a very good thing. On the Today show this morning they have said the average amount of times a home stays on the market in the San Diego, Boston, SF areas is now greater then 35 days, before it was like 7 days.

This is good for everyone. The prices will go up but only by single digit increases not the double it has been. What is going to happen is home buying and selling will go back to the people who want to live in homes, not who want to invest in them. This is the end of the flippers, as well people who just want to make a quick buck.

This will also give those who want to own a chance now to not get priced out of a market.

I'm a real estate agent here in Northern Va.

It is definitely a buyers market now. Six months ago, it was nuts, people were buying left and right, houses would have multiple contracts offered after they spent 3 or 4 days on the market...Agents had to do little to no advertising in order to sell one.

Rumor has it that now that the interest rates are slowly starting to go up, there will be quick action. People that are freaked out after Katrina and oil prices will now make their moves before rates get too high. It won't be what it was earlier this spring, but it also won't be 30+ days.

And actually Jbooma, this is what we realtors call a "normal market". It's like speeding on the highway at 130 mph, and then dropping down to 100. You're not going as fast as you were, but you're still moving pretty damn fast.

It's also good for me because the so called "discount brokers" won't be able to stay in business for very long :) They don't make enough to be able to market a property for the long haul.

I wonder if it can actually burst? I hope so, the sooner the better.

why is that so we can have a recession??