Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Need to ask elementary through high school teachers/educators a question

Elessar78

Not an educator, just wondering if there is (or will be) any context to those questions.

I'm a parent and coach youth sports and I'm looking for parallels that will help me teach my sport better and help my own children in school. 

As a coach, I've seen my players on the first time they touch a ball to playing in the NCAA playoffs to going off to Europe to tryout for a professional team. I've seen a lot and have a pretty good idea of what it takes to get from point A to point B. But I don't have that knowledge when it comes to academics. 

In soccer the first years, esp ages 6 through 8 are critical. You don't get a good grounding those years and it becomes very impossible to catch up. 

Plus, "the wall" seems to be not what to coach but how to coach better. Can the process be accelerated with using good teaching techniques? Are there techniques that teachers use that I don't know about? Are there techniques that have been proven not effective. 

There are lots of studies now, namely one released by Ohio State, where they tracked critical reasoning skills from freshman year through graduation and found negligible improvement in that area. OSU isn't an easy college to get into, so all those kids had good grades. 

1.) Are methods for teaching and acquisition of motor skills (in sports) the same for more academic-type skills?

2.) What are some predictors of real academic success (actual learning not just good grades or high standardized test scores).

Read about problem based learning (PBL) and Process Oriented Guided Inquiry Learning (POGIL). In general, the biggest key to learning is similar to atheltics- practice with feedback.  Feedback in stages that allow for more "practice" work well.