Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

GHH's Observations: The Good, The Bad and The 'Meh, the Sky's NOT Falling Reality Perspective' W4: Thursday Night Nightmare.

Gibbs Hog Heaven

Firstly friends, apologies for 3 day delay in this weeks observations. A combination of both being super busy, and also taking a step back and reading with interest (and a great deal of sympathy and understanding as I've been doing this along with y'all for the past 32 years) the collective meltdown of the fanbase in it's complete apathy to the team that appears to of self imploded even earlier than usual this season. I'm quite surprising myself with a far more calm, laidback take on affairs to the overall general feel; but more on that later.

So without further ado, Week 4's musings:

The Good.

Niles Paul. What? Me? Giving props to Swiss Army Niles? Jack of all trades and master of none? .....

Another real good game from Paul in the time he was in. 3 receptions for 60 yards ..... he WAS our offense. And the catch he got concussed on (28 yards over the middle ending in Demps levelling him on the unnecessary roughness penalty) was a HELL of a play considering he retained the football. Dude really has stepped up in the absence of Reed.

Josh LeRibeus. Taking personal satisfaction here as I've argued long and hard Josh needed to be given his head on the actual field of play. Many will remember the last INT when he got planted squarely on his ass and Cousins had tremendous pressure; but I see that as more a part of the learning curve at this level as opposed to going against our own guys in dumb downed practices. Overall I thought he was pretty darn good considering this was his first ever pro start and only his 9th game overall. The combination he was forming with Trent, particularly in the success we had running left, was brilliant.