Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

If Shanahan's given up, what hope do we really have with him? A pretty darn disappointed and disillusioned long time backer of the HC.

Gibbs Hog Heaven

I hate knee-jerk threads. Maybe this will be seen as one, maybe not. But this is something that can't be let slide and deserves it's own talking point.

I've been a BIG defender of Coach Shanahan on here. I still believe in him in the mounting face of every sense of reason to the contrary. (And boy is the 'contrary' fast mounting by the week.).

But for him to turn around in the post-game presser and say that he's now evaluating players and allude to the season not mathematically over, but realistically; is a cause for serious concern.

We're just past half-way for Pete's sake. And he's talking of evaluating and looking to next season. It's open knowledge I never expected much of anything out of this season results wise. I had us at 5 or 6 wins all things considered. But I'm a FAN. He's the freaking Head Coach of this organization. The man tasked with leading us back to the promised land. You CAN'T openly voice that opinion in his position, even if you think it privately, 1 game over half-way into the season before a two week break.

If I'm the owner, there's a massive red flag just gone up. Even more so after all I've laid in the line on getting Robert. If I'm a player in the locker room, how does the HC expect me to lay everything on the line for him come Sunday when he, the man leading me, has to all intents and purposes given up.

That, more than anything else that happened today has troubled me the most. I don't see how that can be translated into anything else than he's written off this season. Which even if the post-season isn't realistic, is a ridiculous thing for a HC to openly say with 7 games left.

And it's put up the first real doubt in a long time Shanahan backer as to whether he actually is the guy to see this through.

Hail.